CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX



Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

MEMBERS

Donald A. Blubaugh *Public Member*

Federal Glover County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member

cial District Member

Dwight Meadows
Special District Member
Mary N. Piepho

Rob Schroder
City Member

Don TatzinCity Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Candace Andersen
County Member
Sharon Burke
Public Member

Tom Butt
City Member

George H. Schmidt Special District Member

August 14, 2013 Agenda Item 8

August 14, 2013 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) Board Election

Dear Commissioners:

This is a report from the LAFCO ad hoc subcommittee appointed by the Commission to screen and recommend candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors.

Contra Costa LAFCO is a member of SDRMA and purchases its workers' compensation and property/liability insurance through the Authority. In May, LAFCO received the SDRMA election packet with information regarding the board election process and seven candidates. The SDRMA requests action by LAFCO to select up to four candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors; ballots must be cast by August 27, 2013.

In July, the Commission appointed an ad hoc subcommittee (Commissioners Burke and Schroder) to review the candidates and report back to the Commission in August with its recommendations. On August 1st, the subcommittee met and reviewed the seven candidates for the seats on the SDRMA Board of Directors. Candidates were reviewed using criteria such as incumbent status, geographic balance, insurance or risk management experience, LAFCO experience, and size of the district.

The subcommittee interviewed all candidates by phone. Based on the interviews and criteria used, the subcommittee recommends that Contra Costa LAFCO cast its votes for the following candidates:

- Muril Clift*, Cambria Community Services District
- Mike Scheafer, Costa Mesa Sanitary District
- Jean Bracy*, Mojave Desert Air Quality Management District
- David Aranda*, North of the River Municipal Water District

^{*} Incumbent

Recommendations:

- 1. It is recommended that the Commission cast its vote pursuant to the subcommittee's recommendations, adopt Resolution No. 2013-01 containing the Official 2013 SDRMA Election Ballot (attached), and direct staff to file the LAFCO resolution with SDRMA prior to August 27, 2013; or
- 2. Provide other direction as desired.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Burke and Rob Schroder

Attachment – LAFCO Resolution 2013-01 Containing Official 2013 SDRMA Election Ballot

RESOLUTION NO. 2013-01

A RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission FOR THE ELECTION OF DIRECTORS TO THE SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) is a Joint Powers Authority formed under California Government Code Section 6500 et seq., for the purpose of providing risk management and risk financing for California special districts and other local government agencies; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement specifies SDRMA shall be governed by a seven member Board of Directors nominated and elected from the members who have executed the current operative agreement and are participating in a joint protection program; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement Article 7 - Board of Directors specifies that the procedures for director elections shall be established by SDRMA's Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Board of Directors approved Policy No. 2012-05 Establishing Guidelines for Director Elections specifies director qualifications, terms of office and election requirements; and

WHEREAS, Policy No. 2012-05 specifies that member agencies desiring to participate in the balloting and election of candidates to serve on SDRMA's Board of Directors must be made by resolution adopted by the member agency's governing body.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the governing body of the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission selects the following candidates to serve as Directors on the SDRMA Board of Directors:

(continued)



OFFICIAL 2013 ELECTION BALLOT

SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

VOTE FOR ONLY FOUR (4) CANDIDATES

Mark each selection directly onto the ballot, voting for no more than four (4) candidates. Each candidate may receive only one (1) vote per ballot. A ballot received with more than four (4) candidates selected will be considered invalid and not counted. All ballots must be sealed and received by mail or hand delivery in the enclosed self-addressed, stamped envelope at SDRMA on or before 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 27, 2013. Faxes or electronic transmissions are NOT acceptable.

X	MURIL CLIFT (INCUMBENT) Director, Cambria Community Services District
	MIKE SCHEAFER Director/Vice President, Costa Mesa Sanitary District
	JOHN WOOLLEY Director/Finance Officer, Manila Community Services District
	TIM UNRUH District Manager, Kern County Cemetery District No. 1
\square	JEAN BRACY (INCUMBENT) Director of Administrative Services, Mojave Desert Air Quality Management District
	DENNIS MAYO Director/President, McKinleyville Community Services District
X	DAVID ARANDA (INCUMBENT) General Manager, North of the River Municipal Water District
ADOPTED this following roll call	14th day of August , 2013 by the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission by the votes listed by name:
AYES:	
NOES:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT:	
ATTEST:	APPROVED:

X